My Tech Journey

My Tech Journey

Hello there 👋 In this article, I'm going to share on how I found myself in the tech world. I've always told myself that whenever I decide to start writing that I'll love to share my story and after listening to Anna McDougall in the just-concluded hashnode boot camp, I was happy that I could share this. Do enjoy my story🤗

Back in my primary school days, I was fond of telling my classmates that i wanted to become a banker when I was older. I had developed so much love for the profession, not knowing what life had in store for me.

As I grew older, I developed an interest in sciences despite I was doing well in business studies. At this stage, I was still deliberating if I would still achieve my goal of becoming a banker. Fast forward to later in life, I eventually chose the science department when given the opportunity in senior secondary school and this decision was major influenced by movies I watched (I loved sci-fi, investigative movies, and movies relating to tech). I also fell in love with technology and wanted to know how it worked under the hood.

One of the movies I watched then was '24 Hours'. I loved everything about this movie and Chloe was my best character in the movie. The way she came up with solutions were amazing and from that movie, I got a picture of what i wanted to become and also what I wanted to do for my country.

In the period of deciding what I wanted to study at the university, some people tried messing with my mind about my chosen course. One of such people was a teacher in my secondary school who came to our class and asked each of us what we wanted to study. I told her I wanted to study Computer Science and she said I wanted to destroy my life. She said I will end up typing documents for people, repairing computers and, all other things I can't remember. Guess who is studying Computer Science …... Me and so far, I've had no cause to regret this decision. Though when I don't get good grades, doubts of not being made for this set in and tries to break me down. At times like this, I encourage myself to focus on my achievements and the positive things that have happened to me because of this course and I am then motivated to do more.

Computer science is a wide field with different career options. I got to know earlier in my course of study that one has to choose an area of specialization in the field and not wait till after graduation. Choosing wasn't easy. In my 2nd year, I started pondering on the area I wanted to specialize in and found it very difficult to decide. So, I started by trying with all the areas I had an interest in.

The first was ethical hacking. The way Chloe (a character in 24hrs whom I made mention of in my previous article) hacked one system to the other just to get information, really fascinated me. Though I wanted to become a hacker to use it for the right thing. So I read on hacking, types of hacker, and tools needed for it, but I suddenly lost interest.

Next was android development. I came to know about android development when I joined a community in school,the Developer students club (DSC). On joining the club, we were asked the track we wanted to join and the options were web development and android development. I knew I didn't want web development because it was common so I opted for android development. During the meetup, the tutors made android development interesting to learn, but it wasn't easy because of the issues with downloading android studio and it's SDK (software development kit). At the end of the meetup, we built our first app and presented it. Moving forward I wanted to continue my study of android, which I did, but it later became frustrating. Anyone who is into android development will know it can be tiring, especially when you have issues with the studio, SDK setup, emulator not working, and all of that.

So I lost interest again and left android. I then had to give up on just trying anything and decided to focus on my studies. I told myself that at the right time I will discover what my heart beats for. Move on to the end of year 3, I decided to learn one programming language and be good at it(still learning) and I chose Python. Python is easy to learn and apply. It can be used for anything you can ever think of. I also love the fact that it can be used for data analysis and data science which I came to know of early this year and I had an interest in it.

Data science is a course that best describes what I've always wanted to do. I've always had a big concept in mind that I couldn't find expression for until I got to know about data science and analysis, I knew that this was it. After having this knowledge, I then focused on learning python and also took courses that relate to data analysis and data science.

I haven't regretted making this decision so far rather? I am motivated and challenged to know more.

PROJECT? I have done only a few which I will share the link.

Do read, like, and comment on what inspires you to do what you are doing. Thanks for reading🤗

You can find the link to the little projects I have done:

First android app

Tesla Stock Price analysis for the last three months

Python problems

Discount Mart analysis